2017 Winners

APEX works to develop a strong community of practice; promote the physical and mental health of executives; and support executive leadership excellence. In addition to these strategic objectives, the Association also fosters efforts to improve the level of pride and morale among public service executives, a key factor in improving overall health in the workplace. In support of this, APEX has an annual awards program to recognize the exceptional contributions of individual federal public service executives in the areas of: Leadership; Career Contribution; Partnership; Innovation; Healthy Workplace; Community Contribution as well as a Public Service Citation.

 


Please join us in congratulating the accomplishments of these exceptional public servants:

 

Leadership Award

Mr. George Green, Vice-president, retired, Indigenous Affairs and Cultural Heritage, Parks Canada, for his exceptional leadership of people which contributed to the success of several projects such as Parks Canada's efforts in Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples; as well his dedication to mentorship, coaching and diversity has contributed significantly to a positive workplace.



Telfer

 

Career Contribution Award

Mr. Guy Baron, Director General, retired, Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, Labour Program, Employment and Social Development Canada, for an outstanding 30-year long public service career and for being a recognized leader in the field of mediation and conflict resolution.


APEX
 

Healthy Workplace Award

Ms. Nancy Chahwan, Deputy Commissioner, Canada Revenue Agency, for her  commitment and dedication to workplace wellness and, in particular, to mental health while working at the Treasury Board Secretariat where her efforts for creating a climate of respect was recognized at all levels.

 
SunLife

 

Partnership Award

Ms. Megan Kennedy, Director General, Canada Pension Plan and Old Age Security Oversight, Employment and Social Development Canada, for her ability to build and maintain strong partnerships which led to the success of various projects related to the Canada Pension Plan and the Old Age Security business transformation.


APEX
 

Innovation Award

Ms. Debora Turner, Director, Agency Logistics and Administrative Services, Canada Revenue Agency, for her innovative approach in the creation of the new state-of-the-art tax-related paper records storage model at the CRA.

 

Rogers

 

Community Contribution Award

Ms. Sharon Squire, Deputy Veterans Ombudsman and Executive Director, Veterans Affairs Canada for her long-standing commitment and exceptional contributions as a volunteer in a number of organizations at the community, national and international levels.

 
APEX
 

Public Service Citation

The Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, for leaving an indelible mark on Canada and on its Public Service as a journalist, novelist, television personality, publisher, public servant, and Governor General, and this, through undertakings such as boosting pride in the Canadian Forces, drawing national attention to Northern Canada, exploring Canadian culture and working closely with Indigenous communities.

PWC

 

*****

Les Lauréats de 2017

L'APEX travaille à développer une solide communauté de pratique, à promouvoir la santé physique et mentale des cadres supérieurs et à appuyer l'excellence en leadership des cadres supérieurs. Outre les objectifs stratégiques précités, l'Association favorise aussi les efforts visant à améliorer le sentiment de fierté et le moral des cadres de la fonction publique, un facteur clé dans l'amélioration de la santé globale en milieu de travail. À cet effet, l'APEX a un programme annuel de prix pour reconnaître les contributions exceptionnelles de cadres supérieurs de la fonction publique fédérale dans les domaines suivants : leadership; contribution pendant une carrière; partenariat; innovation; milieu de travail sain; contribution communautaire ainsi qu'une mention de service public.

 


Joignez-vous à nous pour célébrer les réalisations de ces fonctionnaires exceptionnels :

 

Prix de leadership

M. George Green, vice-président, retraité, Affaires autochtones et Patrimoine culturel, Parcs Canada, pour son leadership exceptionnel des personnes qui a contribué à la réussite de plusieurs projets, notamment les efforts de Parcs Canada en matière de réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones ainsi que pour son dévouement au mentorat, à l'accompagnement de carrière et à la diversité qui a grandement contribué à un milieu de travail positif.

 

Telfer

 

Prix de contribution pendant une carrière

M. Guy Baron, directeur général, retraité, Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation, Programme du travail, Emploi et Développement social Canada, pour une carrière exceptionnelle de trente ans dans la fonction publique et pour être reconnu comme un leader dans le domaine de la médiation et de la résolution des conflits.


APEX
 

Prix du milieu de travail sain

Mme Nancy Chahwan, commissaire déléguée, Agence du revenu du Canada, pour son engagement continu et son dévouement au bien-être en milieu de travail, et en particulier à la santé mentale au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor où ses efforts visant à créer des conditions favorables au respect ont été reconnus à tous les niveaux.



 SunLife
 

Prix de partenariat

Mme Megan Kennedy, directrice générale, Surveillance du Régime de pensions du Canada et de la Sécurité de vieillesse, Emploi et Développement social Canada, pour sa capacité à tisser et à cultiver de solides relations avec les partenaires, réussissant ainsi divers projets liés à la transformation opérationnelle du Régime de pensions du Canada et de la Sécurité de la vieillesse.

 
APEX
 

Prix de l'innovation

Mme Debora Turner, directrice, Logistiques et Services administratifs, Agence du revenu du Canada, pour son approche innovante qui a mené à la création du nouveau modèle de pointe de stockage des documents fiscaux sur support papier à l'ARC.




 Rogers
 

Prix de contribution communautaire

Mme Sharon Squire, ombudsman adjointe des vétérans et directrice exécutive, Anciens Combattants Canada, pour son engagement de longue date et ses contributions exceptionnelles comme bénévole dans plusieurs organisations communautaires, nationales et internationales.

 
APEX
 

Mention de service public

La très honorable Adrienne Clarkson, pour avoir marqué à jamais le Canada et sa fonction publique comme journaliste, écrivaine, personnalité du petit écran, éditrice, fonctionnaire, et gouverneure générale grâce à des initiatives comme le renforcement de la fierté à l'égard des Forces canadiennes; sa contribution à notre compréhension du Nord canadien; son exploration de la culture canadienne, et son intérêt notoire envers les communautés autochtones.


 PWC

*****