Standing Committees & Working Groups

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee is made up of the officers of the Board, namely the Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and Officer-at-Large.  The committee manages the administration of the affairs of the Association as the Board may determine, provided that the Governance Committee shall not have the power to repeal, vary, add to or amend the By-laws of the Association. 

Audit Committee

The members of the Audit Committee are appointed by the Board of the Directors.  This committee is comprised of three Members in good standing as well as two ex officio members being the Treasurer and the Chief Executive Officer.  This committee reviews:  the annual financial statements, the Auditor's annual report, management letters, reports on specific mandates, and auditors engagement letters.  The audit committee reports on these matters to the Governance Committee; in addition, it meets at least once annually with the Auditor. 

Nominating Committee

This committee looks at the board composition to determine what competencies, skills and or experience would best complement and complete the existing Board, and strives to achieve a Board of Directors that is reflective of the diversity of the Association's membership and the broader federal Public Service.   To meet these objectives, this committee is responsible to propose a slate of candidates consisting of Members in good standing, based on the number of vacancies to be filled, which is presented to the Board and then voted on by APEX members at the annual general meeting.   The chair of the Nominating Committee is appointed by the board, and ensures that notification of the proposed slate of candidates and of the election is sent to all Members in good standing on the date of the mailing.

Working Groups/Committees

These working groups or committees function on an as-needed basis, as per Board direction.  For example, the Health Committee works to meet APEX objectives on workplace health and well-being, including to develop responses and initiatives in response to the APEX health survey of executives conducted every five years.

Comités permanents et groupes de travail

Comité de la gouvernance

Le Comité de la gouvernance est composé des membres du conseil d'administration, c'est à dire du président, du vice-président, du secrétaire, du trésorier et de tous les administrateurs. Il gère les affaires de l'Association selon les décisions du conseil, sans pour autant avoir le pouvoir d'abroger, d'amender ou de modifier les règlements administratifs de l'Association, ou d'y ajouter des dispositions. 

Comité de la vérification

Les membres du Comité de vérification sont nommés par le conseil d'administration. Ce comité comprend trois membres en règle, ainsi que deux membres d'office, à savoir le trésorier et le chef de la direction. Il examine les états financiers annuels, le rapport annuel du vérificateur, les lettres de recommandation, les rapports sur certains mandats, et les lettres de mission des vérificateurs. Il rend compte sur ces points au Comité de la gouvernance et il se réunit, en plus, au moins une fois par an avec le vérificateur. 

Comité des candidatures

Ce comité s'intéresse au conseil dans le but de déterminer quelles seraient les compétences, qualifications et expériences qui complèteraient et parachèveraient au mieux la composition actuelle, et il s'efforce de former un conseil d'administration représentatif de la diversité des membres de l'Association et de l'ensemble de la fonction publique fédérale. Pour atteindre ces objectifs, il est chargé de proposer une liste de candidats choisis parmi les membres en règle, en fonction du nombre de sièges à pourvoir. Cette liste est présentée au conseil, puis soumise au vote des membres de l'APEX lors de l'assemblée générale annuelle. Le président du Comité des candidatures, qui est nommé par le conseil, veille à ce que la liste des candidats proposée et les résultats du vote soient envoyés à tous les membres en règle à la date d'expédition.

Groupes de travail/comités

Ces groupes de travail ou comités sont créés en fonction des besoins, selon les directives du conseil. Par exemple, le travail du Comité de la santé consiste à atteindre les objectifs de l'APEX concernant la santé et le bien-être en milieu de travail, notamment à réagir au sondage sur la santé mené tous les cinq ans par l'APEX auprès des cadres supérieurs, et à prendre les initiatives qui s'imposent.