Privacy Policy

[Visionnez la version française]

As a not-for-profit organization that does not primarily engage in commercial activity, APEX is not subject to the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) or to the Access to Information Act. Nonetheless, APEX has developed the following Privacy Policy as a demonstration of its strong commitment to the protection of the personal information of its members, employees, partners and other stakeholders.

1.   What is personal information?

Personal information includes any factual or subjective information, recorded or not, about an identifiable individual (personal addresses including email, telephone numbers, membership status, security clearance, language profile, food allergies, disabilities, financial information (credit card numbers, financial institution and account numbers, payroll deductions), summaries of confidential conversations, etc.). It does not include the name, title, business address or telephone numbers of an individual as an employee of an organization.

2.   Who is responsible for protecting the personal information collected by APEX?

The Finance and Membership Coordinator is responsible for ensuring compliance with this policy for all information collected, used and disclosed as it pertains to membership, events and inventories, and to services offered to members only. The Senior Advisor for Executives is responsible for same as it pertains to clients of the Advisory Service for Executives. Other members of the Secretariat may take responsibility for some of this information for the duration of their tenure at APEX, after which time it reverts to the Finance and Membership Coordinator. Other individuals, such as members of the Executive Committee, members of the Board of Directors, departmental representatives or the Association’s Secretariat, may take responsibility for the occasional collection, use and disclosure of some personal information.

3.    Why does APEX collect, use and disclose personal information?

APEX is committed to providing to its members quality professional development opportunities, excellent networking events, up-to-date information, and a number of member-only services (such as sponsoring security clearances for Associate members, negotiating rebates with various private firms, etc.). It also provides an advisory service to all executives. In order to meet these goals, the Association collects, uses and, on rare occasions, discloses personal information for the following purposes:

  •  To maintain a membership list in order to: provide services to its members, collect fees and dues, and give members access to discounts for certain services and events;
  • To maintain a list of clients served by the Senior Advisor in order to: communicate with them as required, and report on the services provided and client satisfaction;
  • To keep a record of conversations with clients to allow the Advisor to remember the nature of the issue, the gist of conversations with clients, the sequence of events and the actions taken;
  • To maintain a list of retired executives for whom APEX sponsors a personal security clearance as an accredited organization with Public Works and Government Services’ Industrial Security Sector;
  • To maintain a list of retired executives and the personal profile of those who have opted to be included in the Association’s Inventory of Skills and Interests/Executives on Call.

 APEX does not sell its memberships lists to anyone.

 4.    How do individuals provide their consent for the collection, use and disclosure of their personal information?

When members join APEX, they provide their personal information expressly through a registration process. The Association will then access this information only to fulfill the purposes stated in section 3.

When APEX holds events, personal information is collected from the individuals who will be attending and is used only for the purpose of conducting a specific event (such as the annual symposium). In these cases, information is shared with partner organizations when necessary. For example, when holding the orientation and induction for new executives, APEX will share with the Canada School of Public Service its list of new EXs, which may include some personal information such as food allergies or disabilities.

When Associate members deal with the Association regarding security clearances, they expressly provide all the information required to enable APEX to act as their sponsor.

When Associate members opt to be included in the Inventory of Skills and Interests/Executives on Call, they expressly provide all the information that will enable the Association to market their availability for paid or volunteer work.

When clients first speak with the Senior Advisory for Executives, they are directed to the retainer letter found on the Association’s website which outlines what information is collected, for what purpose, how confidentiality is protected and for how long the information is kept on file. They then indicate verbally whether or not they wish to access the Service.

Consent can be withdrawn at any time by contacting the person responsible for this policy who will then ensure that the individual’s personal information is no longer used or disclosed by APEX.

5.   How much personal information does APEX collect, use or disclose?

APEX only collects, uses and discloses the personal information it requires to fulfill the purposes stated in section 3, and no more.

6.   How long does APEX retain personal information?

APEX retains personal information for as long as it is required to fulfill the purposes stated in section 3. For example, credit card information collected during registration for an event is kept for 18 months in order to process the transaction or to provide a refund if necessary. Members’ contact information is kept for the duration of their membership and is renewed once a year.

Information on clients of the Advisory Service is kept for as long as the file is open; it is destroyed 9 months after the file has been closed or remained inactive.  Some information (most of which would not fall under the definition of personal information) is kept indefinitely in the Advisory Service’s database (client number, name, title, address, email, telephone numbers, region, issue, answers to satisfaction questionnaire).

Information on security clearances is kept for as long as the retired executive is an active member of APEX in good standing. It is destroyed after 6 months if the membership is not renewed.

7.   How secure is the personal information stored at APEX?

APEX is committed to ensuring that personal information is protected from unauthorized access, unintended disclosures or theft. This protection is provided by firewalls in the computer system, passwords to protect databases, and locked filing cabinets. Access is restricted to those individuals listed in section 2.

8.   How can individuals learn more about the Association’s Privacy Policy?

It is also available in hardcopy and can be requested by contacting APEX at:

APEX
Fuller Building
75 Albert Street - Suite 400
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5E7

Phone: 613.995.6252
Fax: 613.943.8919

Email: info@apex.gc.ca


9.   How can individuals access their personal information held by APEX?

If someone wishes to access his or her personal information, he or she need only contact APEX in writing at the above mailing address. APEX reserves the right to charge a reasonable fee for the copying of this information.

10. How can individuals relay their concerns about their personal information held by APEX?


They can contact the Association at 613.995.6252 or at info@apex.gc.ca.

Politique de confidentialité

[View English Version]

En tant qu’organisme à but non lucratif dont les activités principales ne sont pas commerciales, l’APEX n’est pas assujettie à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) ou à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Toutefois, elle a élaboré la Politique suivante pour bien montrer le sérieux de son engagement envers la protection des renseignements personnels de ses membres, de ses employés, de ses partenaires et des autres intervenants avec qui l’Association entretient une relation d’affaires.

1. Que sont les renseignements personnels?

Les renseignements personnels comprennent tous les renseignements factuels ou subjectifs, enregistrés ou non, sur des personnes identifiables (adresses (incluant courriel) et numéros de téléphone personnels, statut de l’adhésion du membre, cote de sécurité, profil linguistique, allergies alimentaires, handicaps, informations financières (numéros de cartes de crédit, institutions financières et numéros de comptes, déductions à la source), résumés de conversations confidentielles, etc.). Ils ne comprennent pas le nom, l’adresse commerciale ou les numéros de téléphone d’affaires d’un individu en tant qu’employé d’une organisation.

2. Qui est responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels recueillis par l’APEX?

La Coordonnatrice des adhésions et des finances est responsable du respect de cette politique pour tout renseignement recueilli, utilisé et divulgué en relation avec les adhésions, les activités et les inventaires, ainsi que les services offerts exclusivement aux membres. Le Conseiller principal auprès des cadres de direction assume les mêmes responsabilités envers les clients du Service conseil pour les cadres de direction. D’autres membres du Secrétariat peuvent assumer la responsabilité de la protection de certains renseignements pendant leur mandat à l’APEX, après quoi, cette responsabilité revient à la Coordonnatrice des adhésions et des finances. D’autres personnes, comme les représentants ministériels, les membres du Comité de gouvernance, du Conseil d'administration ou du Secrétariat de l’Association, peuvent aussi être responsables, à l’occasion, de la cueillette, de l’utilisation et de la divulgation de certains renseignements personnels.

3. Pourquoi l’APEX recueille, utilise et divulgue-t-elle des renseignements personnels?

L’APEX tient à fournir à ses membres des occasions de perfectionnement professionnel de qualité, d’excellentes activités de réseautage, des renseignements pertinents et un large éventail de services exclusifs (comme le parrainage d’un membre associé de l’APEX pour l’obtention d’une autorisation de sécurité, la négociation de rabais auprès de diverses entreprises privées, etc.). Elle offre aussi un service conseils à tous les cadres de direction. Dans l’accomplissement de son mandat, l’Association recueille, utilise et, en de rares occasions, divulgue des renseignements personnels :

  • pour tenir à jour la liste de ses membres afin de leur fournir des services, de percevoir les frais et les droits d’adhésion, et de leur donner accès à des réductions pour certains services et activités;
  • pour tenir à jour la liste des clients desservis par le Conseiller principal afin de communiquer avec eux au besoin et de rendre compte de leur degré de satisfaction et des services fournis;
  • pour garder des comptes rendus des conversations avec les clients afin de permettre au Conseiller de se remémorer la question discutée, la teneur des échanges avec les clients, le déroulement des événements et les mesures prises;
  • pour tenir à jour la liste des cadres que l’APEX a parrainés pour l’obtention d’une autorisation de sécurité en tant qu’organisme accrédité par le Secteur de la sécurité industrielle de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada;
  • pour tenir à jour la liste des cadres retraités ainsi que le profil personnel de ceux qui ont demandé d’être inscrits à l’Inventaire de compétences et des intérêts/Cadres sur appel.

L’APEX ne vend jamais ses listes de membres à qui que ce soit.

4.  Comment les personnes concernées accordent-elles leur consentement à la cueillette, à l’utilisation et à la divulgation des renseignements personnels qui les concernent?

Au moment de leur adhésion et inscription à l’APEX, les membres fournissent des renseignements personnels dont l’Association se sert exclusivement aux fins décrites à la section 3.

Quand l’APEX organise une activité, elle recueille des renseignements personnels sur les personnes qui y participent et s’en sert uniquement pour la tenue de cette activité (comme le symposium annuel). Si nécessaire, elle partage ces renseignements avec ses organisations partenaires. Par exemple, quand l’APEX organise des séances d’orientation et d’accueil pour les nouveaux cadres, elle partage avec l’École de la fonction publique du Canada sa liste de nouveaux cadres qui peut comprendre certains renseignements personnels comme les allergies alimentaires ou les handicaps.

Quand les membres associés de l’APEX traitent avec elle de questions concernant leur autorisation de sécurité, ils fournissent tous les renseignements qui permettront à l’APEX de se porter garante d’eux.

Quand les membres associés de l’APEX demandent à être inscrits à l’Inventaire des compétences et des intérêts/Cadres sur appel, ils fournissent tous les renseignements qui permettront à l’APEX de les faire connaître auprès des employeurs/associations à but non lucratif.

Quand les clients communiquent pour la première fois avec le Service conseil, on leur demande de lire la lettre de mandat d’autorisation et de représentation sur le site Web de l’Association qui indique quels renseignements seront recueillis et à quelles fins, les mesures prises pour protéger leur confidentialité et la durée de conservation des renseignements personnels. Les clients indiquent ensuite verbalement s’ils désirent ou non avoir accès au Service.

Les clients peuvent toujours retirer leur consentement en communiquant avec la personne responsable de cette politique qui verra à ce que l’APEX cesse d’utiliser ou de divulguer ces renseignements personnels.

5.  Dans quelle mesure l’APEX recueille, utilise ou divulgue-t-elle des renseignements personnels?

L’APEX recueille, utilise ou divulgue uniquement les renseignements personnels dont elle a besoin aux fins décrites à la section 3.

6.   Combien de temps l’APEX conserve-t-elle les renseignements personnels?

L’APEX conserve les renseignements personnels aussi longtemps que nécessaire aux fins décrites à la section 3. Par exemple, les données relatives aux cartes de crédit obtenues au moment de l’inscription à une activité sont conservées pendant 18 mois afin d’effectuer la transaction ou un remboursement au besoin. Les coordonnées des membres sont conservées pendant la durée de leur adhésion et renouvelées une fois l’an.

Les renseignements sur les clients du Service conseil sont conservés aussi longtemps qu’un dossier est ouvert. Ils sont détruits 9 mois après la fermeture du dossier ou après 9 mois d’inactivité. Certains renseignements (dont la plupart ne sont pas de nature personnelle) sont gardés indéfiniment dans la base de données du Service conseil (numéro de client, nom, titre, adresse postale, adresse de courriel, numéros de téléphone, région, questions traitées, réponses à un questionnaire sur le degré de satisfaction).

Les renseignements sur les autorisations de sécurité sont conservés aussi longtemps que le cadre retraité demeure membre actif en bonne et due forme de l’APEX. Ils sont détruits après six mois lorsque l’adhésion n’est pas renouvelée.

7.   Quel est le degré de protection donné aux renseignements personnels conservés par l’APEX?

L’APEX attache une grande importance à la protection des renseignements personnels contre l’accès non autorisé, la divulgation non intentionnelle ou le vol. Cette protection est assurée par des coupe-feux informatiques, des mots de passe pour protéger les bases de données et des classeurs verrouillables. L’accès est limité aux personnes mentionnées à la section 2.

8.    Comment les particuliers peuvent-ils prendre connaissance de la politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels de l’APEX?

Ils peuvent aussi l’obtenir par courrier en communiquant avec l’APEX aux coordonnées suivantes :

APEX
Édifice Fuller
75, rue Albert - Pièce 400
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5E7
 
Téléphone : (613) 995-6252
Télécopieur : (613) 943-8919

Courriel: info@apex.gc.ca


9.   Comment les particuliers peuvent-ils accéder aux renseignements personnels conservés sur eux par l’APEX?

Ceux et celles qui désirent accéder aux renseignements personnels conservés sur eux par l’APEX n’ont qu’à communiquer avec l’Association à l’adresse ci-dessus. L’APEX se réserve le droit d’exiger un montant raisonnable pour tirer des copies de ces renseignements.

10.  Comment les particuliers peuvent-ils exprimer leurs préoccupations sur les renseignements personnels conservés par l’APEX?

Ils peuvent communiquer avec le Secrétariat, au 613.995.6252 ou à l’adresse info@apex.gc.ca.