APEX Leadership Summits

 

APEX LEADERSHIP SUMMIT-2014


In February 2013, APEX organized a Leadership Summit, the theme of which was On the Edge of a New Beginning.  Some 60 leaders, from Deputy Ministers to EX1s, managers and young professionals were invited to answer the four following questions:

  1. What role is emerging for the federal government?
  2. What enabling changes are needed in the federal public service?
  3. What competencies, skills and mind-sets are required in the federal public service?
  4. What other critical questions are emerging for you?

APEX organized a second Leadership Summit in February 2014 to address systemic barriers to change.  The theme Paving the Way for Tomorrow's Public Service:  Turning Vision into Reality  was designed to elicit concrete suggestions for actions linked to the priority areas identified in the Blueprint 2020 Summary Interim Progress Report and to demonstrate how a networked leadership approach can be used to tackle complex and challenging issues. Summit participants were challenged to move beyond conceptualization to implementation. They were asked to start developing the building blocks needed to create a Public Service that is positioned to face any current and future challenges.  Their insights and recommendations, along with those of the February 2013 Leadership Summit were captured in a report to the Clerk of the Privy Council.

 



APEX LEADERSHIP SUMMIT-2013


In February 2013, APEX provided an opportunity for executives to come together for a day at its Leadership Summit, 'The Edge of a New Beginning'.  Participants benefitted from presentations by leaders in the field of public sector governance and management including:

  • the Mckinsey Centre for Government (Government Designed for New Times);
  • Towers Watson (Global Talent 2021 and the Canadian Perspective); and
  • the Institute for Research on Public Policy (New Directions for the Federal Public Service).

Round table discussions focused on identifying the competencies needed to lead in the new reality.  The objective was to push beyond traditional thinking, and identify the new mindsets required to successfully reshape the institution to meet the evolving needs of the next generation of Canadians.

APEX is uniquely positioned to organize these kinds of strategic conversations.  Creating a safe space to come together and share experiences supports the objective of creating an engaged network of leaders from across the Public Service.

The Summit was extremely timely, in that APEX identified some of the very issues and questions that will be explored through the government's recently announced Blueprint 2020 exercise.  The insights gleaned from the Leadership Summit will support and feed the broader consultations APEX will conduct on both Blueprint 2020 and the review of the proposed new Key Leadership Competencies developed by the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer.

Sommets du Leadership de l'APEX



 SOMMET DU LEADERSHIP DE L'APEX-2014


En février 2013, l'APEX a organisé un sommet du leadership dont le thème était Prendre son envol. Quelque 60 leaders, de sous-ministres à EX1, gestionnaires et jeunes professionnels, avaient été invités à répondre aux quatre questions suivantes :

  1. Quel rôle nouveau et différent émerge pour la fonction publique fédérale?
  2. Quels changements habilitants faudrait-il apporter dans la fonction publique?
  3. Quelles nouvelles compétences et mentalités sont nécessaires?
  4. Quels autres enjeux importants se dessinent pour vous?  

L'APEX a organisé un deuxième Sommet du leadership en février 2014 pour traiter des obstacles systémiques qu'il faut éliminer. Le thème Tracer la voie à la fonction publique de demain: concrétisation vision a été conçu pour obtenir des suggestions concrètes de changements liés aux domaines prioritaires identifiés dans le Rapport sommaire de mi-parcours sur Objectif 2020 et de démontrer comment une approche de leadership en réseau peut être utilisée pour traiter de problèmes complexes et difficiles. Les participants au Sommet ont été invités à aller au-delà de la conceptualisation pour réfléchir à la mise en œuvre. Ils ont été invités à commencer à élaborer les composantes d'une fonction publique en mesure de relever tout défi actuel et futur. Leurs idées et leurs recommandations, ainsi que celles découlant du Sommet du leadership de février 2013, ont alimenté un rapport au greffier du Conseil privé.  

 



SOMMET DU LEADERSHIP DE L'APEX-2013


En février 2013, l'APEX a permis aux cadres supérieurs de se réunir pendant une journée lors de son Sommet du leadership, "Prendre son envol". Les participants ont tiré profit de présentations par des chefs de file dans le domaine de la gouvernance du secteur public et de la gestion, notamment :

  • le McKinsey Centre for Government (Le gouvernement conçu pour une nouvelle ère)
  • Towers Watson (Gestion des talents 2021 et le point de vue canadien), et
  • l'Institut de recherche en politiques publiques (Nouvelles perspectives pour la fonction publique fédérale).

Les discussions en tables rondes ont porté sur l'identification des compétences en leadership requises pour gérer le nouvel environnement. L'objectif était de remettre en question la pensée traditionnelle, et d'identifier les nouvelles mentalités nécessaires pour remodeler l'institution avec succès afin de répondre aux besoins changeants de la prochaine génération de Canadiens.

L'APEX est particulièrement bien placée pour organiser ce genre de dialogue stratégique. La création d'un forum pour se réunir et partager, en toute confidentialité, les expériences appuie l'objectif de créer un réseau engagé de leaders dans l'ensemble de la fonction publique.

Le sommet était plus qu'opportun, en ce que l'APEX a identifié certains des mêmes enjeux et questions qui seront examinés dans le cadre du processus Objectif 2020 récemment annoncé par le gouvernement. Les idées recueillies lors du sommet du leadership appuieront et alimenteront les consultations plus larges que l'APEX tiendra sur Objectif 2020 et l'examen des compétences clés en leadership élaborées par le Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines.