Awards of Excellence Program

Awards Winners 2021

Each year, APEX highlights management excellence and leadership of federal public service executives. The Association’s awards are presented to the people who have made uniquely important contributions.

With the exception of the Public Service Citation Award, the APEX Awards of Excellence are open to all executives currently employed in the public service. It should be noted that Deputy Heads, who are appointed by the Prime Minister, are not eligible. With respect to recently retired executives, they are eligible as long as they have worked at any time in the last 12 months prior to the closing date of this call for nominations.


Past Recipients2020 Winners

Nomination Process

The nomination process is launched in December of each year. Nominations will be accepted until the deadline in February of the following year. Dates will be confirmed following the launch. For more information please consult the list of awards and nomination criteria.

Nominating a Candidate

Nominations for the 2021 APEX Awards of Excellence are now closed (Feb 23, 2021). Stay tuned for announcement of the winners this Spring.

A few things to note as you prepare to nominate someone:

The person you wish to nominate must be a current executive member of the executive cadre. Retired executives are eligible if they are part of the executive cadre before the closing of the nomination process. Deputy Heads are not eligible. For more information regarding eligibility of nominees, please contact

The APEX Selection Review Committee is requesting information about the candidate beyond career history or resumes.  You must provide information that supports accomplishments in the specific award category.  For example, a letter of support from staff or colleagues can help demonstrate leadership.

A three-step process to follow:

  1. Download and complete the nomination form:
    Using the nomination form in fillable pdf format, fill in the required information (make sure to save a copy).  Page one of the template is for basic information, and page 2 is for your narrative on how the candidate meets the selection criteria for the award category for which you are nominating the person.APEX Awards Nomination form 2021
  2. Obtain three letters of support;
    The Selection Review Committee is looking for three individuals who attest to the candidate’s exceptional achievements. You, as the nominator, will need to contact individuals who are willing to support your nomination, and who will provide brief letters of support that you attach to the completed nomination form. Ensure the candidacy is supported by at least one APEX member. The Association can help identify members who could be approached for their support.
  3. Send in your nomination:
    All nominators will receive an acknowledgment of receipt of their submission(s), which can be sent electronically or by mail as follows:

Sarah Djafri
APEX Awards Coordinator
APEX, 75 Albert Street, 4th floor – Suite 400
Ottawa, ON K1P 5E7

Nominations for the 2021 APEX Awards of Excellence are now closed (Feb 23, 2021). Stay tuned for announcement of the winners this Spring.

Information about Award Winners:

Once the selection process is completed, APEX will  advise award winners of the committee’s decision. All nominators will be informed of the results. As well, APEX will advise all nominees and their deputy head that their names had been put forward as candidates.

Recipients will receive their award certificate at the APEX Symposium.