Info-APEX : Échanges Canada

Foire aux questions

J’envisage une affectation dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada (EC). Que dois-je savoir au sujet de ces affectations? Quelle est la première chose que je dois faire?
Communiquez avec votre représentant ministériel du programme Échanges Canada (voir l’hyperlien ci-dessous)
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/psm-fpfm/learning-apprentissage/pdps-ppfp/ic-ec/exl-fra.asp

 

Quelle est la durée potentielle d’une affectation dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada?
Les affectations dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada peuvent durer jusqu’à trois années consécutives, que l’affectation soit au sein d’une même organisation ou au sein d’organisations multiples au cours de cette période. Dans certaines circonstances exceptionnelles, l’administrateur général peut prolonger une affectation jusqu’à deux années additionnelles.

En temps normal, une période d’au moins deux ans doit s’écouler entre deux affectations dans le cadre du programme Échanges Canada, mais l’administrateur général est autorisé à déroger à cette clause. Prière de consulter https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12553 et https://publications.gc.ca/site/archivee-archived.html?url=https://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2020/sct-tbs/BT22-226-20-2020-fra.pdf.

 

Quelles sont les conditions d’emploi qui s’appliquent aux participants au programme d’Échanges Canada?
Les participants continuent d’être des employés de l’organisme parrain et demeurent assujettis aux conditions d’emploi de leur poste d’attache, y compris son programme de rémunération au rendement, le cas échéant. Toutefois, la présentation et l’approbation de demandes de congés doivent faire l’objet d’une entente entre l’organisme d’attache et l’organisme d’accueil.

 

Avec quels types d’organisations puis-je conclure une affectation dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada?

Échanges Canada est un mécanisme de mobilité entre l’administration publique centrale et d’autres organisations des secteurs privé, public et à but non lucratif au Canada et à l’étranger. En acceptant des affectations temporaires, les employés se perfectionnent sur le plan professionnel tandis que les organisations participant au Programme tirent profit de nouvelles connaissances, compétences et approches. Les organisations peuvent utiliser le programme aux fins d’enrichissement des tâches, de gestion des talents ou d’échange de compétences. Une entreprise à propriétaire unique n’est pas considérée comme une société et, par conséquent, ne peut conclure un accord dans le cadre du programme Échanges Canada.
Les participants ne peuvent se placer en conflit d’intérêts dans la foulée d’une affectation, conformément au Code de valeurs et d’éthique du secteur public, à la Directive sur les conflits d’intérêts et l’après-mandat et aux codes de conduite organisationnels.
Les participants doivent satisfaire aux vérifications de la fiabilité requises et aux autorisations de sécurité de l’organisation hôte. Les employés de l’administration publique centrale ne peuvent utiliser Échanges Canada pour des affectations à titre de personnel ministériel.

 

Qu’en est-il de ma rémunération dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada?
L’article 4.2.24 de la Directive sur Échanges Canada stipule que « l’organisme d’accueil rembourse à l’organisme parrain l’intégralité du salaire du participant, le coût des avantages sociaux à la charge de l’employeur, les heures supplémentaires et, le cas échéant, la rémunération au rendement (…). L’organisme parrain doit, quant à lui, payer le participant. Les organismes d’accueil ne peuvent rémunérer directement les participants. »

 

Qui assume les coûts associés aux affectations dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada?
Les participants continuent à recevoir leur salaire et leurs avantages sociaux de leur organisme d’attache. En temps normal, l’organisme d’accueil rembourse ces coûts à l’organisme d’attache. Une entente de remboursement différente peut toutefois être négociée entre les deux parties.
Conformément à l’article 4.2.6 de la Directive sur Échanges Canada, les gestionnaires doivent assumer tous les frais professionnels, y compris le coût des entretiens préliminaires, les frais de déplacement et les frais de formation officielle dans le cadre de l’affectation.
https://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2020/sct-tbs/BT22-226-20-2020-fra.pdf

 

Quel devrait être le contenu d’une entente dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada? (c.-à-d., y a-t-il un libellé particulier?)

Pour connaître les éléments que devrait contenir une entente dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada, vous pouvez consulter l’annexe A de la Directive sur Échanges Canada : Normes d’administrations des affectations d’Échanges Canada https://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2020/sct-tbs/BT22-226-20-2020-fra.pdf

La lettre d’entente est signée par vous, votre administrateur général et celui de l’organisme d’accueil.

Bien que ce qui suit ne fasse pas partie du contenu suggéré par SCT, les cadres supérieurs peuvent vouloir qu’on leur fournisse un moyen de rester branchés avec leur organisme d’attache pendant l’affectation. L’APEX suggère le libellé suivant:

Il est convenu que l’organisme parrain fournira un accès continu au réseau informatique de son organisme d’attache (courriel, intranet, applications Web, y compris le système de paie Phoenix, les modules de gestion du rendement et des talents du SGTCS), ainsi qu’un ordinateur portable et un BlackBerry pour la durée de l’affectation dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada.

 

Puis-je négocier un salaire différent (supérieur) avec mon organisme d’accueil pour la durée de mon affectation d’Échanges Canada?
Bien que pendant leur affectation dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada, les participants demeurent au groupe et au niveau de leur poste et organisme d’attache, l’article 4.2.20 de la Directive sur Échanges Canada stipule que « pendant l’affectation, les participants ne reçoivent aucune rémunération supplémentaire de l’organisme d’accueil », ce qui inclut la rémunération d’intérim ou les primes.

 

Puis-je profiter d’Échanges Canada puis immédiatement après demander un congé non payé (CNP) pour poursuivre l’occasion à l’externe?
Le but du programme Échanges Canada (EC) est l’amélioration des connaissances, des compétences et des aptitudes du cadre supérieur pour qu’il en fasse bénéficier le ministère à son retour. C’est une affectation temporaire. La lettre d’entente doit stipuler que le participant reprendra un poste dans son organisme parrain. Bien qu’il n’y ait, dans les directives et politiques, aucune disposition relative à EC ou au CNP qui exclut expressément cette possibilité, le fait de permettre à un cadre supérieur de repartir pour une période de temps prolongée pourrait être non conforme à l’esprit du programme. Cela dit, l’administrateur général est autorisé à gérer les affectations d’Échanges Canada au sein de son organisme conformément à l’article 3.1 de la Politique du programme Échanges Canada https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12552&section=html.

Qu’en est-il de la rémunération au rendement dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada ?

Les participants en affectation dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada sont assujettis au programme de gestion du rendement de leur organisme d’attache. Il est prévu qu’un cadre supérieur réalisant une affectation dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada puisse être rémunéré au rendement. Prière de consulter l’annexe A de la Directive sur la gestion du rendement et des talents des cadres supérieurs https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=32637

Vous pourriez vouloir discuter tant avec votre organisme d’attache qu’avec votre organisme d’accueil afin de clarifier la façon dont votre rendement sera mesuré pendant votre affectation dans le cadre d’Échange Canada.

 

Mon organisme parrain doit-il conserver mon poste?

L’entente EC stipule ce qui suit :

« À la fin de l’affectation Échanges Canada, (participant/e) retournera à (organisme parrain) à un poste ayant un taux de rémunération qui ne sera pas inférieur à son traitement actuel plus toute augmentation qui pourrait lui être accordée pendant la durée de l’affectation, en vertu du régime salarial de (organisme parrain), à moins que d’autres arrangements aient été négociés et que (participant/e) et (organisme parrain) aient été d’accord. »

 

Comment présenter mes demandes de congé dans le cadre d’une affectation d’EC?

Le cadre supérieur en affectation d’EC a le droit de prendre des congés annuels et des congés de maladie au cours de la période d’affectation conformément aux conditions d’emploi qui s’appliquent à lui dans son organisme d’accueil. Les arrangements en matière de congés sont déterminés entre le cadre supérieur et son supérieur de l’organisme d’accueil en fonction des exigences opérationnelles et des besoins personnels.

L’organisme d’accueil fournit à l’organisme parrain, sur une base (mensuelle / trimestrielle), un rapport des congés du cadre supérieur, comme convenu entre les deux parties.

 

Qu’en est-il si les heures de travail de l’organisme d’accueil sont différentes de celles de la fonction publique (par exemple, une semaine de travail de 30 heures à raison de quatre jours de 7,5 heures)?
Le participant d’Échanges Canada est assujetti aux conditions d’emploi de son organisme d’attache, mais doit respecter les conditions de travail de l’organisme d’accueil. Cela inclut les heures de travail, les jours fériés, les heures supplémentaires, les exigences de sécurité et la planification des vacances et des congés sans solde.

 

Si l’organisme d’accueil a un horaire des fêtes différent de celui de la fonction publique centrale (soit un jour férié provincial, comme la Journée de la famille, ou ferme ses portes entre Noël et le Nouvel An), le cadre supérieur est-il tenu de prendre un congé annuel pour justifier ces absences du lieu de travail? De même, si l’organisme d’accueil n’offre pas les mêmes jours fériés que ceux de la fonction publique centrale (comme le jour du Souvenir ou le lundi de Pâques), le cadre supérieur doit-il se présenter au travail ces jours-là?
Le participant d’Échanges Canada doit respecter les conditions de travail de l’organisme d’accueil. Cela inclut les heures de travail, les jours fériés, les heures supplémentaires, les exigences de sécurité et la planification des vacances et des congés sans solde.

 

Qu’en est-il d’une affectation de transition de carrière dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada?

Conformément à l’article E.2.2.3.2.1 de l’annexe E de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi pour les cadres supérieurs, avant le début de leur affectation dans le cadre du programme Échanges Canada, les cadres supérieurs en situation excédentaire doivent accepter, par écrit, de démissionner à compter de leur date de mise en disponibilité de l’administration publique centrale, et seront admissibles uniquement à leur indemnité de départ et au remboursement des crédits de congé accumulés. Ils ne seront pas admissibles aux éléments monétaires et non monétaires qui peuvent faire partie d’une entente de transition dans la carrière.

 

Les cadres supérieurs qui sont mis en disponibilité pendant qu’ils sont en affectation au titre d’Échanges Canada n’ont droit à aucune priorité de réintégration dans l’administration publique centrale.

 

Les cadres supérieurs qui sont mis en disponibilité pendant qu’ils sont en affectation au titre d’Échanges Canada peuvent avoir droit à la rémunération au rendement durant leur dernière année d’emploi, conformément aux articles B.8.3 et B.8.4 de l’annexe B de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi pour les cadres supérieurs https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=32625&section=html.

 

Comment puis-je obtenir une affectation Échanges Canada avec l’APEX?

L’Association professionnelle des cadres supérieurs de la fonction publique du Canada (APEX) comprend un secrétariat doté d’un certain nombre de postes de cadre supérieur de l’APEX (CS), ainsi qu’un personnel permanent pour appuyer l’administration de l’organisation. Les CS sont membres du groupe de la direction. Chaque CS pilote généralement un ou plusieurs dossiers à l’APEX dont l’organisation du symposium annuel de l’APEX; la planification et la réalisation des activités associées à la santé des cadres supérieurs; l’appui et la prestation des services et des activités aux membres de l’APEX; l’appui au chef de la direction en matière d’adhésions, de mobilisation des parties prenantes et de politique stratégique; l’organisation de la cérémonie annuelle d’accueil des nouveaux EX; l’appui aux cadres grâce à la conception de produits liés aux conditions d’emploi; l’offre de services consultatifs anonymes aux cadres supérieurs, et l’appui de l’APEX en matière de communications.

L’APEX est une société à but non lucratif régie par un conseil d’administration de cadres supérieurs fédéraux bénévoles, dont des représentants régionaux, et appuyée par un chef de la direction de qui relèvent les cadres supérieurs de l’APEX. L’APEX est dédiée à fournir aux cadres des occasions de réseauter et de développer une solide communauté de pratique. Dans le cadre de la mission, l’APEX favorise également la santé et le bien-être, et appuie l’excellence en leadership. À titre de voix de la collectivité fédérale des cadres supérieurs, l’Association est une organisation nationale dynamique dont les conseils sur les enjeux essentiels de la fonction publique sont appréciés et sollicités par les principaux décideurs.

Les CS joignent l’APEX par l’intermédiaire du programme Échanges Canada, habituellement pour une période de 24 à 36 mois. Ils doivent obtenir l’accord de leur administrateur général pour couvrir leur plein salaire pour toute la durée de leur affectation à l’APEX.

Ces affectations peuvent se dérouler à tout moment au cours de la carrière d’un cadre supérieur puisque l’objectif d’une affectation temporaire est le perfectionnement professionnel des employés tandis que les organisations participant au programme tirent profit de nouvelles connaissances, compétences et approches. Les organisations peuvent utiliser le programme Échanges Canada aux fins d’enrichissement des tâches, de gestion des talents ou d’échange de compétences.

Les possibilités d’affectations à titre de CS sont partagées avec les membres pour qu’ils puissent manifester leur intérêt en fonction des occasions qui se présentent.

 

Le Code de valeurs et d’éthique du secteur public et l’Annexe B de la Politique sur les conflits d’intérêts et l’après-mandat s’appliquent-ils aux fonctionnaires travaillant à l’administration publique centrale, et qui acceptent des affectations temporaires dans d’autres secteurs aux termes de la Politique du programme Échanges Canada?

Oui, le respect du Code de valeurs et d’éthique du secteur public et de la Directive sur les conflits d’intérêts et l’après-mandat s’inscrit dans les conditions d’emploi de tous les fonctionnaires travaillant dans les ministères, organismes et autres institutions publiques, dont le Conseil du Trésor est l’employeur, et les principes qui y sont énoncés continuent de s’appliquer aux employés qui acceptent une affectation dans le cadre du programme Échanges Canada.

Selon la Directive sur Échanges Canada, l’employé qui accepte une affectation dans le cadre de ce programme continue de relever de son organisme d’attache dans la fonction publique fédérale et doit y retourner à la fin de l’affectation. Elle prévoit que toutes les conditions d’emploi continuent de s’appliquer.

La Politique du programme Échanges Canada prévoit par ailleurs que l’administrateur général doit s’assurer que les lignes directrices relatives aux conflits d’intérêts, à l’après-mandat et à la sécurité sont respectées.

 

Liens

Directive sur Échanges Canada
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12553

Directive sur les conditions d’emploi pour les cadres supérieurs
https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=32625&section=html

Politique du programme Échanges Canada
https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12552&section=html

Renseignements généraux sur les ententes dans le cadre d’Échanges Canada
https://www.canada.ca/fr/secretariat-conseil-tresor/services/perfectionnement-professionnel/echanges-canada.html

Liste des coordinateurs / coordinatrices pour le programme Échanges Canada dans les ministères – Personnes ressources pour le niveau cadre
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/psm-fpfm/learning-apprentissage/pdps-ppfp/ic-ec/exl-fra.asp

 

ANNEXE

L’annexe A.2.2.1 de la Directive sur Échanges Canada stipule que la lettre d’entente

  • doit être bilingue, à moins d’ententes contraires entre toutes les parties ou si l’organisme parrain et l’organisme d’accueil se situent dans une région unilingue
  • doit préciser au moins les éléments suivants :
    • un énoncé selon lequel le participant est un employé de l’organisme parrain et le restera tout au long de l’affectation, y compris si l’organisme parrain est une corporation personnelle;
    • une déclaration stipulant que le participant reprendra un poste dans l’organisme parrain;
    • la date de début et de fin de l’affectation;
    • les montants de la rémunération à rembourser à l’organisme parrain par l’organisme d’accueil;
    • les modalités de l’affectation;
    • un énoncé selon lequel une affectation peut faire l’objet d’un examen et les ententes peuvent être résiliées à tout moment avant la date de fin indiquée dans la lettre d’entente si tous les signataires s’entendent par écrit ou si l’un des signataires en avise les autres au moins 30 jours civils à l’avance;
    • un énoncé selon lequel, après le début d’une affectation, toute modification des modalités établies dans la lettre d’entente doit être confirmée au moyen d’un addenda à la lettre d’entente, et l’addenda doit être signé par toutes les parties;
    • un énoncé selon lequel l’affectation peut être résiliée temporairement pour une période déterminée avec l’accord écrit de toutes les parties et le reste de l’affectation peut être reporté jusqu’à ce que le participant reprenne le travail.

INFO-APEX: Interchange Canada

Frequently Asked Questions

I think I have an opportunity for an Interchange Canada (IC) assignment. What should I know about these assignments? What is the first thing I should do?

Contact your departmental Interchange Canada representative (see the attached link)
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/psm-fpfm/learning-apprentissage/pdps-ppfp/ic-ec/exl-eng.asp

 

How long can IC assignments last?

IC assignments can last up to three consecutive years, whether the assignment takes place with one or more organizations during that time period. In exceptional circumstances, assignments can be extended by up to a maximum of two additional years by the Deputy Head.

Normally, there is a minimum period of two years before a former participant may participate again on Interchange Canada, but Deputy heads have the authority to waive this provision. http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12553 and https://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2018/sct-tbs/BT43-157-2011-eng.pdf

 

What terms and conditions of employment apply to IC participants?

Participants remain employees of the sponsoring organization and continue to be subject to the terms and conditions of employment applicable to their substantive position, including its performance pay program, if applicable. However, the filing and submission of leave requests and approval are agreed upon collaboratively between the host organization and the sponsoring organization.

 

With what types of organizations can I arrange an Interchange assignment?

Interchange Canada is a mobility mechanism between the core public administration and other organizations in private, public and not-for-profit sectors in Canada and internationally. By taking temporary assignments, employees develop professionally while participating organizations benefit from new knowledge, skills and approaches. Organizations may use the Program for job enrichment, talent management or skills-exchange. A sole proprietorship is not considered a corporation and therefore may not enter into an agreement under Interchange Canada.

Participants cannot be in a conflict of interest as a result of the assignment in accordance with the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector, the Directive on Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment and organizational Codes of Conduct.

Participants must meet the required reliability checks and security clearances of the host organization. Employees of the core public administration cannot use Interchange Canada for assignments as ministerial staff.

 

How do I get paid while on IC?

Article 4.2.24 of the Directive on Interchange Canada states that the host organization refunds to the home organization the cost of the participant’s full salary, employer-paid benefit costs, and if applicable, performance pay. The home organization, in turn, pays the participant. Host organizations do not pay compensation directly to participants. This includes pension contributions and medical and dental plans. Essentially, the participant should not notice any difference from being in their home department.

 

Who is responsible for the costs associated with IC assignments?

Participants continue to receive their salary and non-salary benefits from their home organization. Typically, the host organization reimburses the home organization for these costs; however, a different reimbursement agreement may be negotiated between the home and host organizations.

In accordance with Article 4.2.6 of the Directive on Interchange Canada, Managers are responsible for paying for all business expenses, including preliminary candidate interviews, business travel and formal training while the participant is on assignment;
https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12553&section=html

 

What should the Interchange agreement say? (i.e. is there any special wording?)

You can see a list of suggested content at Appendix: Standard on the Administration of Interchange Canada Assignments in the Directive on Interchange Canada: https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12553&section=html

The agreement is signed between you, the Deputy Head of your home organization and the head of the host organization.

While not part of the TBS suggested content, executives may want to suggest that they be provided with a means to keep connected to their home location during the assignment. APEX suggests the following wording:

  • It is agreed that the sponsoring organization will provide continued access to its home organization’s IT network (e-mail, intranet, web applications including Phoenix Pay system, ETMS’s performance and talent management system), as well as a laptop and blackberry, for the duration of the Interchange Agreement.

 

Can I negotiate a different (better) salary with my host organization for the duration of my interchange assignment?

While on assignment, Interchange Canada participants remain employees of their home organization at their substantive group and level. Article 4.2.20 of the Directive on Interchange Canada states that “while on assignment, participants are not provided additional compensation from the host organization”. This includes acting pay or a bonus.

 

Can I take advantage of IC and then immediately after ask for leave without pay (LWOP) to continue the external opportunity?

The intent of IC is to have the Executive enhance their knowledge, skills and abilities and bring these back to the department for the department’s benefit. It is a temporary assignment. The agreement letter must state that the executive will return to a position with the sponsoring organization. While there is nothing in the directives / policies for either IC or LWOP that specifically exclude the possibility, it might not be in keeping with that spirit to permit the executive to leave again for an extended period of time. That said, Deputy Heads have the delegated authority to manage Interchange Canada assignments within their organizations in accordance with policy requirements as set out in Article 3.1 of the Policy on Interchange Canada: https://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2018/sct-tbs/BT43-157-2011-eng.pdf

 

How does performance pay work while I am on Interchange Canada?

Participants on Interchange assignment remain subject to the performance management regime applicable in their home organization. There is provision for an Executive on an IC assignment to receive performance pay. See Appendix A of the Directive on Performance and Talent Management for Executives: https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=32637

You may wish to discuss with both your home and host organizations to clarify how your performance will be measured while you are on Interchange.

 

Is there a responsibility for my home organization to keep my position open for me?

The IC agreement states the following:

“At the end of the Interchange assignment, (participant) will return to a position with (sponsoring organization) at a rate of remuneration of not less than (his/her) present salary plus any increases that may become due to (him/her) during the period of assignment according to the (sponsoring organization)’s salary system unless other arrangements have been agreed to by (participant) and (sponsoring organization).”

How do I file my leave while on an IC?

The Executive on IC is entitled to take annual leave and sick leave during the period of assignment in accordance with terms and conditions of employment applicable to (him/her) in (his/her) host organization. Leave arrangements will be worked out in cooperation between the Executive and the host supervisor in light of operational requirements and personal needs.

A report of any leave taken by the executive will be provided on a (monthly/quarterly) basis by the host organization to the home organization as agreed between the host and home organizations.

 

If the host organization has different hours of work than the public service (for example, a 30 hour work week, of four-7.5 hour days), how would it work for me?

Interchange participants are subject to the terms and conditions of employment applicable to their substantive position but are responsible for respecting the working conditions of the host organization, including working hours, designated holidays, overtime, security requirements, and the scheduling of vacation or unpaid leave.

 

If the host organization has a different holiday schedule than the core public service (i.e. a provincial stat holiday, such as Family Day, or closes its doors over the time between Christmas and New Year’s) would the Executive been required to take annual leave to cover such absences from the workplace ? Likewise, if the host organization did not follow some of the holidays of the core public service (such as Remembrance Day or Easter Monday) would the executive be expected to show up for work on those days?

Interchange participants are responsible for respecting the working conditions of the host organization, including working hours, designated holidays, security requirements, and the scheduling of vacation or unpaid leave.

 

How does a Career Transition Assignment work under IC?

In accordance with Article E.2.2.3.2.1 of the Directive on the Terms and Conditions of Employment for Executives, prior to the commencement of the Interchange Canada assignment, surplus executives must agree, in writing, to resign as of the lay off date of their core public administration employment and will be eligible only for their severance entitlement and payout of unused accumulated vacation leave credits. They will not be eligible for any of the cash or non cash elements that could be provided as part of a career transition agreement.

Surplus executives laid off while on IC assignments are not eligible for priority consideration for reintegration into the core public administration.

Surplus executives laid off while on IC assignments may be eligible for performance pay during their last year of employment, as prescribed in Articles B.8.3 and B.8.4 of Appendix B of the Directive on the Terms and Conditions of Employment for Executives: https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=32625&section=html.

 

How do I get an IC assignment with APEX?

The Association of Professional Executives of the Public Service of Canada (APEX) comprises a secretariat with a number of APEX Executive (AE) positions, as well as permanent staff to support the administration of the office. AE’s are members of the executive cadre. Each AE usually leads one or more files within APEX that include: Organizing the annual APEX Symposium; planning and delivering activities in support of the health of Executives; Supporting and delivering services and activities to APEX Members; Supporting the CEO in Membership/Stakeholders engagement/Strategic Policy; Organizing the annual induction ceremony for new EX’s; Supporting Executives with the development of products related to the Terms and Conditions of Employment; Offering anonymous advisory services to executives, and Supporting APEX in the delivery of Communications.

APEX is a not-for-profit corporation governed by a volunteer Board of Directors of federal executives, including regional representatives, and supported by a CEO to whom APEX Executives report. APEX is dedicated to providing executives with opportunities to network and develop a strong community of practice. As part of the mission, APEX also promotes executive health and wellbeing, and supports leadership excellence. As the voice of the federal executive community, the Association is a dynamic national organization whose advice on critical Public Service issues is valued and acted upon by key decision-makers.

AEs come to APEX through the Interchange Canada program, usually for 24 to 36 months. They must have the agreement of their Deputy Head to cover their full salary for the entire duration of their assignment at APEX.

These assignments can take place at any time during the career of an executive as the goal is that, by taking temporary assignments, employees develop professionally while organizations participating in the Program benefit from new knowledge, skills and approaches. Organizations may use the Program for job enrichment, talent management or skills exchange.

Opportunities for AE assignments are shared with members for their expression of interest as opportunities arise.

 

Do the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector and Policy on Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment, Appendix B apply to public servants working in the core public administration, who accept temporary assignments with any other sector under the Policy on Interchange Canada?

Yes, The Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector and the Directive on Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment form part of the conditions of employment for all public servants working in departments, agencies and other public institutions, for whom Treasury Board is the employer, and continues to be applicable to employees who are on an approved IC assignment.

The Directive on Interchange Canada confirms that an employee on an IC Assignment remains attached to their home organization in the federal public service and must return to their home organization at the end of the assignment. It states that all terms and conditions of employment will continue to apply.

The Directive on Interchange Canada confirms that an employee on an IC assignment remains attached to their home organization in the federal public service and must return to their home organization at the end of the assignment.

Under the Policy on Interchange Canada the deputy head must be satisfied that conflict of interest, post-employment and security guidelines are adhered to.

Links

Directive on Interchange Canada
https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12553&section=html 

Directive on the Terms and Conditions of Employment for Executives

https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=32625&section=html

Policy on Interchange Canada
https://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2018/sct-tbs/BT43-157-2011-eng.pdf  
General Information regarding Interchange Canada Agreements

https://www.canada.ca/en/treasury-board-secretariat/services/professional-development/interchange-canada.html

ANNEX

Article 3.4 of the Directive on Interchange Canada states:
“The letter of agreement is signed by the parties and includes at a minimum:
a. A statement that the participant is an employee of the home organization, including a personal corporation, and will remain so throughout the assignment;
b. A statement that the participant will return to a position with the home organization at a rate of remuneration of not less than their present salary;
c. The start and the end date of the assignment;
d. The compensation amounts to be refunded;
e. A statement indicating how official language requirements will be met;
f. The information that the parties agree to make publicly available;
g. The approach to performance evaluation, where performance or variable pay is concerned (e.g., the Executive Group);
h. A statement concerning the participant’s obligations under the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector, the Policy on Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment, Part 7 (“Political Activities”) of the Public Service Employment Act and organizational Codes of Conduct; and
i. The following statement: “The (name of the home organization) will ultimately be responsible for any workers’ compensation-related costs, regardless of who was designated responsible by the applicable provincial or territorial workers’ compensation board”. “